I’ll say it again. Zucchini!

icex0016026

Spanish zucchini / Juan Manuel Sanz – ICEX

Do people talk about zucchini? I feel like they don’t, or at least not nearly as often as they should.

I picked up a box of incredibly-shaped organic Spanish zucchini the other day, and I couldn’t help but marvel at the garden-fresh aromas and firm flesh of these versatile vegetables, which are available virtually all year, but oh-so-good in the summer.

One of the great things about zucchini, in my humble opinion, is that it can be as flavorful or as neutral as you like, taking on a starring role, or just adding a bit of volume and depth to a sauce or soup, or any other range of dishes.

In fact, looking at the box of zucchini before me, I admit I was almost a little bit overwhelmed by the culinary possibilities it presented! But then I realized that sometimes the best thing to do to let the flavors and aromas of a wonderful bit of produce like this shine through is, as little as possible!

So, if this happens to you and you need a good place to start, check out these two wonderfully simple,  yet delicious recipes for zucchini, on Foods and Wines from Spain. 

Zucchini and scrambled eggs and Zucchini soup with crunchy ham strips.

 

Leave a Reply

