Verdú Cantó Saffron Spain

Laboratorio VCSS copy

The laboratory at Verdú Cantó Saffron Spain

In the nearly two decades I’ve lived in Spain, I don’t think I’ve ever traveled back to the United States without bringing a small box of Spanish saffron with me for someone or other: my parents, my friends, my brother’s neighbor, my niece’s teacher… there’s just something so evocative about giving someone the gift of a tiny box of this brilliantly colored spice, and knowing all of the care and skill that has gone into it. (It also fits wonderfully into a suitcase).

Of course I never bother to mention the fact that the longstanding and thriving export market for Spanish saffron has made the need for me to hand-carry this prized spice across the ocean completely obsolete.

Take a company like Verdú Cantó Saffron Spain for instance. This 125 year-old family company first began exporting its saffron in 1923. Today, exports of its various saffron brands continue to boom, as do the company’s newer, innovative products like its mixed-spice mills and spice combinations for mixology.

Learn more about Verdú Cantó Saffron Spain in this interview with General Manager Patrick de la Cueva, on Foods and Wines from Spain.

Leave a Reply

