Irresistable Mediterranean Tapas in Alicante!

icex0016320

The quiet before the rush. The bar at Monastrell. / Tomás Zarza – ICEX

The first thing I did after reading Rodrigo García Fernández’s article Mediterranean Tapas in Alicante: Bar hop your way through the culinary essence of the Mediterranean on Foods and Wines from Spain, was to get online and look for train tickets to Alicante (in the Valencian Community).

Stomach grumbling, I was only seconds away from booking a hotel for the following night, when I realized that the tiny human that would be traveling with me goes to sleep at seven PM, seriously putting a damper on my immediate need to try each and every one of the bars, restaurants and dishes discussed in this magnificent and mouthwatering article. Sigh.

The truth is that I spent one night in Alicante a few years ago, while on my way to the nearby town of Jijona to learn about Spanish turrón. On the author’s recommendation, I dined at the bar of Nou Manolín. It was everything he promised it would be and more, and I’ve been wanting to go back ever since.

If you love Spain and you love food, as I do, read this excellent article – but don’t blame me if you end up planning your holidays in Alicante as soon as you’re done.

Leave a Reply

