Yes to Spanish Persimmons!

Spanish persimmons / Alejandra Garrido - ICEX

Spanish persimmons / Alejandra Garrido – ICEX

I don’t think that I had ever eaten a persimmon until I came to Spain nearly two decades ago, but I can guarantee that I’ve been eating them ever since. What’s more, I can’t seem to decide which version I like better, the soft persimmons that you can eat with a spoon directly out of their skin, or the firmer variety that you slice up like an apple.

This subtropical fruit thrives in certain areas of Spain, including Andalusia, but most particularly in the Valencian Community. Here, the kakis (or caquis in Catalonia) are so valued for their taste, texture and color that they are protected by Designation of Origin Kaki Ribera del Xúquer status.

Fotunately, the persimmon harvest is right around this time of year (towards early October), so there is still time to get your fill of this wonderful, seasonal Spanish fruit.

 

Leave a Reply

