On the road with Spanish wines

Packing the tastes of Spain / Fernando Madriaga - ICEX

Packing the tastes of Spain / Fernando Madriaga – ICEX

In the days leading up to my holidays in the United States, I invariably find myself accumulating piles of  things that I want to take back with me as gifts for my Spanish food loving family: anchovy stuffed olives, saffron, extra virgin olive oil, pimentón and my favorite Spanish wines, among other things.

It’s not that you can’t find these things there, in fact it is getting easier and easier all the time, I guess it’s just that old habits die hard.

One thing I have slowly started leaving off my list, however, are the wines. With limitations on how much alcohol you can carry into the USA, and of course luggage weight limits. – not to mention the ever increasing variety of Spanish wines available in the States – there just doesn’t seem to be as much of a point to hand-carrying it in anymore, not when I can find many of the same wines once I arrive.

One place where it is easy to find quality Spanish wines is perhaps surprisingly Costco, the American wholesale giant that has been turning into more and more of an outlet for Spanish wine sales in the USA.

Read more about how Costco is affecting the sales of Spanish wines in the United States in this interesting article Costco: An American Dream for the Wines from Spain, on Foods and Wines from Spain.

 

 

Leave a Reply

