Spanish Food and Wine in Stockholm

chrisjohansson_spain

Last week in Stockholm, the Spanish Trade Commission and ICEX Spain Trade and Investment hosted the annual Spanska Vin- och Gastronomidagen Fair, featuring Spanish foods and wines.

Christofer Johansson, a former participant in the ICEX Spanish Gastronomy Training Program was also on-hand to prepare some Spanish tapas for visitors, using wonderful Foods from Spain, of course!

Here is a brief description of the event as well as some other musings on his time in Spain, written by Christofer himself:

It’s been more than two years since I first started one of my biggest impressions of my culinary career. It was in January 2011 when I entered the ICEX training program for young chefs. A while ago now, but still fresh in mind. Today I’m back home in Sweden living my culinary dream working for a great restaurant and developing my own culinary company, Even if I more or less only work with Swedish produce in my daily job, my passion for the best Spanish produce will never end, whether I live here in Sweden, or move somewhere else one day. My period in Spain has given me not only one of the best experiences of my life, but also it has given me the opportunity to collaborate with Spanish food and wines here in Sweden.

Last week the ICEX office in Sweden organized a food and wine event where I got the opportunity to cook a wide range of tapas for all the visitors. Foie gras with Spanish almonds and vinagre de Jerez, Iberico ham with olive oil and scallops, pimentos de padrón and anchovies and finally, Torta Extremeña with bitter oranges and honey. What a wide range of products very different from traditional Swedish ones. This gives me the opportunity to stay opened minded and creative when cooking. But best of all, always reminds me of my fantastic period in the ICEX program 2011.

Miss you all, especially the cured hams!

Christofer

Leave a Reply

